First Week (and a bit)

Well, I’ve now been In France for over a week, and so far I’ve been adjusting fairly well. The bureaucracy is a nightmare, but when isn’t it? I have my ‘stage’ in Strasbourg tomorrow, officially welcoming me as an assistant, which means getting up at 6. So that should be fun…

I’ve also visited the school, and all the teachers seem nice. I felt quite at sea though, as usually when I met new people, my go to response is meaningless chatter and self deprecating humour – AND I DON’T KNOW HOW TO DO THAT IN FRENCH! Ahem. I felt like such a lemon. Although to be fair when I apologised for my awkwardness, my boss(? I guess) Anne-Marie was really nice, and actually said I had a pretty accent (Well accent joli) . So that’s something, I guess.

I managed to get out of Sélestat this weekend, and headed for Haut-Koenigsburg, a castle that looks like it’s been lifted from Game of Thrones or something. It’s huge, and I can’t believe it hasn’t been used in something. It was really interesting, from what I understood from the French tour guide, and the views are spectacular.

On Sunday I found the swimming baths and the river, although I think my 50’s style red and white polka dot sun dress caused a few double takes. The French don’t seem to go in for vintage much, or not in Sélestat, it seems. I have to say though something quite bizarre I found on Sunday was remote control boat racing on the little lake behind the pool. Ok…

Je ne pense pas que j’écrirai une traduction aujourd’hui, parce que j’ai mal à la tête et j’essaie de regarde le TV français. Puisque c’est assez difficile de faire des deux choses en anglais, on peut oublier le français !

Leave a comment